8/10 · Ice cream

Ben & Jerry’s Topped Salted Caramel Brownie

wp-1485718434234.jpg

The third and final (she says) Topped flavour after Strawberry Swirled and Chocolate Caramel Cookie Dough, is Salted Caramel Brownie.

Vanilla Ice Cream, a Salted Caramel Swirl, Brownies, Chocolatey Chunks & a Spoonable Topping. 

It has the same thick chocolate topping as the Choc Caramel Cookie Dough and it’s just as dark in colour – I’ve finally figured out the lighting settings on my camera!

wp-1485900055148.jpg

I realised eating this flavour what the chocolate topping reminds me of: Gianduja. It makes sense considering the addition of hazelnut paste, while it’s not quite as soft as gianduja it doesn’t have the same solidity as frozen chocolate.

I much preferred the chocolate topping with vanilla ice cream. I moaned previously that the chocolate ice cream seemed quite bland compared to normally, but it was still chocolate on chocolate and became a bit sickly. B&J’s vanilla isn’t anything to write home about, and I have had better, but its sweet creaminess is the perfect partner for the rich and more intense chocolate.

wp-1485900117435.jpg

This flavour had a lot more going on than the other two, unlike the Strawberry Swirled this had chocolatey chunks throughout and even more than was in the Chocolate Caramel Cookie Dough. The crisp snap and strong chocolate flavour really popped in this one and again, tasted even better than before.

I think the brownies might be my favourite B&J chunks of all. Normally they’re mixed in with chocolate ice cream or at least a chocolate blend, but I love them with vanilla. They somehow taste even more chocolatey and are just as squidgy and chewy as ever. Touch wood, I’m yet to have a freezer burnt brownie from Ben & Jerry’s.

wp-1485900297497.jpg

I went into this flavour with low expectations regarding the swirl, maybe I should have with the others because I ended up really enjoying it. Not only was it actually there (Choc Caramel Cookie Dough I’m looking at you) but it was delicious and complimented, not overwhelmed, the other flavours (ahem Strawberry Swirled).

There was lots of it and it was sticky, smooth and rich with a lovely and strong caramel flavour. One criticism, if I’m being picky, is that it wasn’t very salted. Some portions weren’t salted at all to be fair, but a good 60% was and it was good; just at that perfect point of addictive salty sweetness but not salty to the point of actually tasting like salt – if that makes sense!

wp-1485900362982.jpg

I finally get it.

It took some work and a bit of digging underneath the topping, but when I got a spoonful of silky chocolate, thick and creamy vanilla ice cream, crisp chocolate chunks, squidgy gooey brownie and rich salty caramel? Well, it was about as close to heaven as I’m going to get!!

Saved the best of the three till last, for sure.

Rating: 8/10 

2 thoughts on “Ben & Jerry’s Topped Salted Caramel Brownie

  1. Now that these have hit the shelves in Asda most definitely will be picking them up, think this is the flavour that I have the highest hopes for too!! Unfortunately I have experienced freezer burnt brownie from Ben & Jerry’s – boo hoo hoo.

Leave a Reply

