7/10 · Ice cream

Ben & Jerry’s Topped Chocolate Caramel Cookie Dough

wp-1485718434254.jpg

So, it took all of two days for those new flavours I presumed were coming to be released and of course I had to get my grubby paws on them, ASAP!

I’ve already reviewed Strawberry Swirled and Topped flavour number two is Chocolate Caramel Cookie Dough

wp-1485814196245.jpg

Chocolate Ice Cream, a Caramel Swirl, Cookie Dough, Chocolatey Chunks & a Spoonable Topping

The first difference is the chocolate topping. This time it’s very dark in colour, it doesn’t specify what chocolate is used (and actually hazelnut paste is included in the chocolates ingredients) but it tastes very intense and rich, and has a deeper flavour than I expected.

It’s easy to break and is super soft again, the strong flavour and melt in the mouth creamy texture made for a very enjoyable mouthful.

wp-1485814196199.jpg

Once again I had a million chocolate ampersands on top but this time there were a few inside the ice cream too. It seems to be the same chocolate used as the topping and provided a welcome rich chocolate burst every now and then.

The ice cream is chocolate flavoured too, as far as I can tell it’s the same used in all the other chocolate based B&J’s and it actually tasted so much like Chocolate Fudge Brownie I found myself expecting a soft squidgy brownie on the end of my spoon on more than one occasion!

wp-1485846939054.jpg

I normally find their chocolate ice creams nice and chocolatey but it seemed quite mild in this flavour. Perhaps it’s because it’s quite light on the chunks so there’s more plain ice cream, or maybe it’s because the chocolate topping and &’s are so chocolatey. I don’t really know, but it just seemed a bit plainer than usual.

The cookie dough chunks are as standard, there aren’t as many as there normally are, but what’s there is good and has the same familiar gritty chewy cookie dough texture. What I will say, is that I can see why the go-to ice cream for cookie dough is vanilla as the actual flavour is quite easily masked by the chocolate.

wp-1485846915901.jpg

There is supposed to be a caramel swirl. If I hadn’t been reviewing it and taken so many photos I’d swear blind I had none at all. I’ve since trawled over them and found one teeny tiny blob of caramel swirl in the photo above. It’s very blink and you’ll miss it so I’ve helpfully pointed it out for you:

20170131_071441.jpg

That’s it. Seriously. He thinks he had a bit more in his but safe to say neither of us actually tasted it. It’s a shame as I like B&J’s caramels usually.

I’m not sure I get the point of these Topped flavours. This time round I ate 95% of the chocolate straight away and was left with basically Chocolate Fudge Brownie minus the brownies and with an extra 3 or 4 cookie dough chunks.

As much as it pains me to say, the chunk-less base just isn’t as nice as some of its competitors. Realistically, thanks to a weirdly low amount of chunks for a Ben & Jerry’s, I could have bought any chocolate ice cream (or even Half Baked which is on special offer everwhere!) and stuck a few squares of good quality chocolate on top and I’d have been in the same boat as I am now. Maybe just a few pounds richer!

I’ve saved the tastiest sounding Topped flavour for last – the review will be up tomorrow – hopefully it will be the redeeming flavour!

Rating: 7/10 

One thought on “Ben & Jerry’s Topped Chocolate Caramel Cookie Dough

Leave a Reply

