5/10 · Ice cream

M&S Caramel Fudge Chocolate Brownie Ice Cream

dscf4228-2

While window shopping in M&S I spied with my beady eyes a new ice cream. I can always find pennies for new ice cream (although pennies they ain’t in there!) and I had to break the M&S seal. I’m fully blaming this ice cream on a £28 shopping basket!

I’ve enjoyed previous M&S ice creams, particularly the Salted Caramel Blondie Brownie and this seems to be the Ying to that Yang. Opposites but kind of the same..

Dairy chocolate ice cream swirled with toffee sauce, chocolate brownie pieces and salted caramel fudge pieces. 

20161123_150330.jpg

Sadly I knew from the first bite that this was a whole different beast, and not in a good way. Long gone was the thick creamy smooth texture and in its place a oddly solid thick lump that even after 15 minutes out of the freezer was better suited to chewing than letting melt in the mouth.

The flavour wasn’t much better. It wasn’t bad but it wasn’t great and instead of the rich chocolate flavour I expected it tasted like frozen hot chocolate. Chocolate powder to be exact and a quick glance at the ingredients now shows this is exactly whats used. It’s such a shame as it really affects the flavour I think.

There were lot’s of brownies, varying in size but most on the larger side it was hard to not compare them to Ben & Jerry’s. Unfortunately they aren’t as good, some were lovely with a rich chocolate flavour and chewy and soft but some seemed to suffer from a freeze and were hard and stale tasting.

20161123_150818.jpg

There were a few blobs and swirls of toffee sauce floating about and what I did get was good. The sauce melted far quicker than the hard ice cream and provided a much welcome runny smoothness. It’s pretty sweet but has a very welcome rich toffee flavour that cuts through the chocolate.

Finally the salted caramel fudge. Can you see any? Because I know I didn’t find even one single piece! I thought I did at one point but it turned out to be a rock hard brownie. Mr.1T had a couple of pieces in his pint (bastard) and apparently it had no salted caramel flavour at all, only fudge. They were nice and soft though so at least M&S got one part right.

What happened Markses?

Rating: 5/10 

 

Leave a Reply

