6/10 · Ice cream · Uncategorized

Aunt Bessie’s Rhubarb Crumble Ice Cream

dscf4111-2

I reviewed the Jam Roly Poly Aunt Bessie’s ice cream a few weeks ago and I remember thinking at the time that I wasn’t too fussed on the other flavours, after all, who thinks “I could really go for some rhubarb in front of the telly this evening”? Not me!

The state of Morrisons freezers left me with no choice this week though, thanks to the Aunt Bessie’s ice creams being safely lumped in with the frozen desserts and the freezer storing the rest of the ice creams having a solid 6 or so inches of ice to smash through before you can even get to them!

Aunt Bessie’s Rhubarb Crumble ice cream 

“I’ve combined real rhubarb fruit and crunchy pieces of crumble together in a delicious rhubarb flavoured ice cream and finished it off with a drizzle of tangy rhubarb sauce..”

dscf4114-2

The ice cream is packaged up just the same as the Jam Roly Poly, squeezed in to two boobie shaped peaks with an attractive pattern and a layer of rhubarb sauce. If you’ve read that review you’ll know not to hold out too much hope on that sauce…

The ice cream is soft enough to scoop immediately but it has a surprisingly dense feel. I suppose from the look and softness I expected a more mousse like quality but it’s pretty thick. It isn’t quite as creamy in texture as the high end brands but it’s perfectly acceptable and not airy or “iced dessert” feeling at all.

I’d held out on this flavour as I associate rhubarb with a sharp tang and while I’m happy to have that in a sorbet, it’s not really what I’m looking for in an ice cream. Happily, for me, this wasn’t the case at all. The rhubarb flavour in the ice cream isn’t very strong, if I was being polite I’d call it subtle – truthful would be faint. I could just taste it though and the distinctive rhubarb flavour worked well with the creamy tasting sweet ice cream base.

wp-1479247250698.jpg

This is a flavour for the chunk lovers as I didn’t have a single spoonful without about 40% extra pieces on it.

The rhubarb varied in size, the above is the largest I had in the tub and the smallest was really just a slither. I struggled with differentiating between the flavour of these pieces and the flavour of the ice cream, they’re pretty mild although I did enjoy the harder texture. To be honest, the pieces of rhubarb were the most forgettable aspect for me..

There were tonnes and tonnes of tiny “crumble” pieces. Weirdly, they felt and tasted like tiny pieces of pastry – like a pie crust. Firm, very slightly crunchy but a little bit soggy from the rapidly melting ice cream with a lovely flavour that I soon realised was Digestive biscuits! They really are digestives so that explains that, but they’re much more like a dunked digestive biscuit than one straight out of the packet. I’m not complaining, they were by far my favourite part!

wp-1479247272113.jpg

Finally the drizzle of rhubarb sauce. As I fully expected it disappeared once I’d broke the surface but this time it never came back! I was quite disappointed actually as the small amount I had on top had the sharper stronger rhubarb flavour and despite not really wanting it to begin with I think it would have been perfect rippled throughout.

I personally really liked it, but I don’t really care for rhubarb… Although it’s a tasty ice cream it could have done rhubarb crumble a lot better.

Rating: 6/10 

2 thoughts on “Aunt Bessie’s Rhubarb Crumble Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

