10/10 · 8/10 · Chocolate

Marmite Chocolate Jar

dscf4070-2

I am a Marmite addict. There’s no question whether my blood is blue or red, its thick, sticky and black. Not a day goes past where I don’t eat something with Marmite and I’m 90% sure it’s the reason I’m not deficient in vitamin B12.

I’ve reviewed quite a few Marmite products, a lot more have been released in recent years – long gone are the days when something Marmite flavoured was a rare novelty – we’ve got everything now (except ice cream, I had to make that myself!). Today I’ve got the Marmite Chocolate Jar

Marmite flavour hollow milk chocolate Marmite jar. 

dscf4076-2

Just look at the attention to detail! It’s not some fiddly deliciate little chocolate either, it’s full whack at 190g, probably three times the size of a real Marmite jar and about twice the size of even the catering sized tubs!

I reviewed the Marmite Easter Egg and noted the caloric differences between the egg and the chocolate bar. Well this is near identical to the egg (518kcal/100g in the egg to 517kcal in the jar) and that 1 calorie per 100g of chocolate has made no difference in taste. It basically is the Easter egg just cheaper (£5 vs £4) and with more chocolate (160g choc & 30g nuts vs 190g choc) for your money!

If you haven’t read the egg review (and you really should) then I’ll give you a very quick run through. It’s pretty salty, a touch of the sweet mixed with the savoury, a pleasant milky chocolate with an addictive umami edge. If you’re a Marmite lover then you’ll be pleased to know that it does taste like Marmite but if you’re a hater then you’ll be pleased to know its ambiguous enough to still be enjoyable.

Just ask my husband, he did sneakily eat half of mine after all!!!

Rating: Taste – 8/10 Novelty – 10/10 

Leave a Reply

