8/10 · Biscuits · Foreign Foods

Michel et Augustin Cookie Squares – Dark Chocolate

DSCF3347 (2)

I caved and ventured into the fancy Budgens in Belsize Park and boy am I glad I did! They had the most interesting foreign food I’ve seen and a fresh sushi counter!!! I was in heaven.

I left much poorer but with bags bursting full of all sorts of random goodies – me and Mr.1T have snacked well the last couple of weeks. Two of the more interesting looking treats were a couple of bars, if you can call them that, from Michel et Augustin – two kooky cookies – and quite possibly the most random, craziest company I’ve ever stumbled across. I can’t go into too much detail – the packaging is so weird (they call their factories banana farms??) but Google them and you’ll see.

I got him the Milk chocolate, caramel & a pinch of sea salt flavour while I took the Dark chocolate with a pinch of sea salt for myself.

DSCF3350 (2)

I don’t know what I expected it to look like but this wasn’t it! Inside were six blocks but rather than being like any biscuits I’ve seen they were more like a reverse chocolate bar if you catch my drift! Instead of a solid block of chocolate with biscuit filling inside, it was a solid chunk of biscuit with pods of dark chocolate inside each square (rectangle!)

They tasted exactly as I hoped they would once I’d caught a whiff of the gorgeous scent – a beautiful buttery, thick, crumbly biscuit that was about as far from dry as a biscuit can get. I’d have been quite happy with just biscuit to be honest.

But chocolate flavoured they were and oh my,the chocolate!

20160815_214354-1.jpg

Huge, deep pockets of dark chocolate were encased in each square. I expected a thin blob of  chocolate but there was almost as much of the dark stuff as there was biscuit. It was near perfect with a deep, rich quite intense dark chocolate flavour. The chocolate used contains 70% cocoa and that tastes about right, paired with the buttery biscuit takes the edge off any bitterness that might be associated with a typical dark chocolate and the general flavour is one I think any chocolate fan would enjoy, not just those dark choc connoisseurs.

Note the lack of sea salt related comments. Well there was a lack of sea salt related flavour too, I don’t think that’s necessarily a bad thing but maybe Michel et Augustin could save themselves some money by dropping it from the ingredients and the labelling, you can’t taste it anyway!

Rating: 8/10 

Bloody lovely, I’d just like better availability!

Leave a Reply

