8/10

Ben & Jerry’s Empower Mint

dscf3599-2

Ben & Jerry’s are worse than buses, I feel like I’ve waited forever for a new flavour and now they’ve released not one, not even two but FIVE (technically) new flavours! Sofa So Good, Wholly Couch, One Sweet World, One Love (new name, same ice cream. Previously Satisfy My Bowl) and finally Empower Mint

Mint Ice Cream with Chocolate Brownies & a Chocolate Fudge Swirl 

It’s a special edition which, as far as I can tell the brownies come from (the usual) Greyston Bakery in Yonkers, New York who help the homeless gain skills & empower them to become self sufficient. Hence the name!

dscf3600-2

As I may have mentioned once or twice, I’m not a great lover of mint as it reminds me of toothpaste, but Ben & Jerry’s sold Minter Wonderland a while ago which I remember enjoying so I thought I’d give it a try.

The look threw me. I don’t know why I expected either a pure white or green ice cream but this looked far more chocolatey than I could have even hoped for.

The flavour, initially, was all mint though. Quite strong and fresh tasting while still having the standard B&J creamy feel and quality. The unadulterated ice cream would be a perfect palette cleanser (if not too good quality and £££) and like its Christmassy predecessor, I really enjoyed it.

wp-1473226125772.jpg

Adding chocolate can only make things better though! A few people have complained of a lack of extra goodies in a couple of other flavours so I’ve checked the ingredients and to begin with it seemed like I had a lot more than the promised 10% brownies.

What can I say about B&J chocolate brownies that hasn’t already been said? Well, nothing really. Except the rich gooey chocolate chunks really pair well with the clean almost crisp flavour of the mint ice cream.

It turns out though, that what I thought were lots of little brownies actually were three of the biggest brownies I’ve ever had in an ice cream. Literally, I had three in the entire pint. I still only had a couple of spoonfuls brownie-free though, it just required some chopping with the back of my spoon.

wp-1473226113993.jpg

Finally the chocolate fudge swirl. I’d normally include a photo but it didn’t really exist… Wait, hear me out. It was there alright but not like any sauce, swirl or core I’ve had in a B&J before. Rather than be a separate solid sauce it was more incorporated into the ice cream as if someone had already melted it, stirred the chocolate fudge flavour in and then froze it again. Minus the freezer burn!

As such the flavour didn’t pop as much as say, the salted caramel sauces, but it was still very apparent and rather than a mint ice cream with chocolate sauce it ended up a mint chocolate ice cream – if that makes sense!

wp-1473226109866.jpg

Rating: 8/10 

Very nice! I ate the lot, as usual, and never experienced the flavour fatigue I’ve had with other base ice creams that have been paired with strong and rich chocolatey extras. Every time the chocolate threatened to overpower what rightfully should be the stronger mint flavour the mint piped right up and together they were pretty delicious – even for me!

Leave a Reply

