8/10 · Ice cream

Morrisons Salted Caramel Ice Cream

DSCF3355 (2)

So I told you all about Morrisons new The Best ice creams and I’ve already reviewed Caffe Latte and Hazelnut. Today I have Salted Caramel –

made with Cornish double cream and swirled with Cornish sea salted caramel sauce 

Truthfully, I wanted this to be crap. I have an awful secret mission to prove my husband wrong at everything and way back when we found the new ice creams this was the flavour he chose first. He has never tried any of the other flavours as he pledged his allegiance and undying love to this flavour and this flavour alone.

You set the bar high there boy!

DSCF3356 (2)

There is no greater time to eat ice cream than night time and the flash hasn’t been kind to the ice cream, in reality it has a much more appealing caramel colour. The one thing Mr.1T had moaned about was a lack of sauce and judging by first impressions, mine looked to be heading the same way.

20160816_213926-1-1.jpg

Remember I said I really wanted to prove him wrong? I was gutted from the first spoon. This stuff is like crack. Just as quality feeling as the previous two, wonderfully soft and creamy without full on melting and a lovely luxurious taste.

The flavour is where it’s at though – amazing. Very rich tasting, it’s pure unadulterated caramel and I couldn’t get enough of it. It wasn’t overly salted, some parts had a more noticeable salty taste but it was underlying throughout and really provided that kind of savoury-sweet addictive edge you find with a good salted caramel.

20160816_214429-1.jpg

I’d been warned there wasn’t much salted caramel sauce and this was true for my pint too. It’s a big case of small but mighty though. The sauce has a super intense, incredibly rich sweet caramel flavour, I didn’t notice any more of the Cornish sea salt promised but it didn’t matter as the caramel is perfectly tasty without it. Delicious!

Rating: 8/10

It’s one of the better plain caramel ice creams I’ve had, I’d go so far to say the caramel flavour may even be nicer than the caramel from my boys Ben & Jerry.. Yes! Don’t worry my loves, you aren’t being replaced..

But I’d be lying if I said I was satisfied with my sauce. The very last picture was pretty much the extent of my Morrisons salted caramel sauce experience.

But it’s still going to be a regular in my shopping basket from now on!

Leave a Reply

