Uncategorized

Morrisons Raspberry Sorbet

DSCF3177 (2)

I’m going to put my hands up and make a confession, whatever supermarket or shop I go in, if it has even the smallest freezer I make sure to check before I leave that there are no new ice creams. It’s become a bit of a game with me and my husband now, well it would be if he wasn’t so crap at it. In what world is Ben & Jerry’s Cookie Dough new? I don’t care if it has a new label!

The game meant I found two new sorbets in Morrisons a couple of months ago, the raspberry I’m reviewing today and a lemon flavour. My brain helpfully reminded me after I’d bought these two of the awful experience I had with the last lemon sorbet I bought and so honestly, I didn’t really want to eat these! This weekend was awfully humid though and with no ice cream in the freezer, the sorbets finally emerged.

DSCF3180 (2)

Unusually, the vibrancy of the colour was a total giveaway to the taste. I sometimes find the brighter the colour the duller the flavour, but that wasn’t the case at all. I’m not sure it’s even possible but this tastes more like raspberry than actual raspberries do! This isn’t because it has an artificial taste though, far from it, it’s deliciously juicy and completely natural tasting and I think the fact that 20% of the total product is made from raspberry puree is the reason why.

There is a world of difference between this and other sorbets I’ve eaten, sometimes they have a slightly icy feel to them and while this is still obviously a sorbet it’s so thick and smooth it tastes borderline creamy.

Rating: 8/10

I’m actually shocked at the quality of this sorbet it’s delicious and cheap. £2 for 550ml, my only regret is I didn’t eat it sooner, all these weeks I’ve been missing out!

Leave a Reply

