7/10 · Foreign Foods · Sweets

Atkinson’s Chick-O-Stick

DSCF2583 (2)

Today I’m reviewing another bag of sugar free sweets, if you’ve read my blog before or follow me on Twitter you’ll soon realise that these were another surprise from Peter at Sweets Without – they’re not really something I’d choose myself!

Atkinson’s are a company from Texas and in true American fashion, there’s a long old letter from the President of the company on the packet, with lots of promises of the very best quality and safety standards, including “fresh peanuts roasted and ground in their state-of-the-art, quality certified U.S. plant”

Atkinson’s make a few sugar free items but the bag I’ve tried is Sugar Free Chick-O-Stick, Crunchy Peanut Butter and Toasted Coconut Candy.

I was apprehensive trying these, don’t get me wrong I was very grateful opening my lovely delivery but I really don’t like peanut butter or coconut.. I was happy to try one or two though, especially seeing as all of Peters recommendations so far have been delicious, and I decided if I really didn’t like them I could get a few friends or family to try them and base my review on the general opinion.

DSCF2586 (2)

If you are reading this and you are one of my family or friends, you’re probably wondering where your sweets are. Yeah… I wasn’t going to share these once I’d tasted them!

They looked and felt a lot like the Banana & Custard sugar free sweets I reviewed a couple of weeks ago, a smooth and shiny boiled sweet. Worryingly (for me) each end had a blob of toasted coconut flakes and a faint peanut butter scent.

I’m not sure what surprised me more, the taste or the texture. They felt like boiled sweets to the touch and had a hard exterior but they were very easy to bite through. Although slightly crunchy to begin with, and even more so with the toasted coconut, they soon became soft and chewy.

Now, on to the dreaded peanut butter and coconut.

What I hate about peanut butter is the claggy feeling  – the flavour I actually find quite pleasant. So I was overjoyed to find a delicious peanut butter flavour with none of the awful stickiness. I really don’t know what got into me but I couldn’t stop eating these! They are very clearly peanut butter flavoured but it’s not ridiculously strong or artificial tasting and has a lovely natural flavour. They don’t taste artificially sweetened (using Splenda) at all. I didn’t actually make a note of anything to do with the sweetness, but I think that’s a good thing – not overly sweet and no harsh  sweetener flavour – they just tasted like ordinary sweets and you can’t ask for much more!

You might have noticed I haven’t mentioned the coconut. Well, to be truthful I didn’t notice it myself while I was eating. There is only supposed to be 5% coconut flakes so perhaps they’re meant more in part to add a little more sweetness or the crunchier feel at the start, but the sweets don’t suffer without, the peanut butter is perfectly tasty alone.

Rating:

Admittedly, I don’t eat Peanut Butter enough to declare this the best peanut butter flavoured sweet in the world, but I think they must be pretty tasty if I not only liked them but ate them all!

7/10

Thanks again Sweets Without for my goodies, not something I’d usually pick for myself but I’m very glad I got to try these! Order your own at www.sweetswithout.co.uk

 Find me on Twitter, Instagram or Blog Lovin’.

Leave a Reply

