8/10 · Ready meal

New Covent Garden Soup Co Soup Of The Month – April

DSCF2593 (2)

I don’t know if it’s my local supermarkets or New Covent Garden but it’s been really difficult to find the Soup Of The Months this year. I can still buy the March soup everywhere but there are just days left in April and I’ve only this week found it!

This months Soup Of The Month is a Skinny flavour, Spinach & Lentil Dhal. I’m very familiar with Lentil Dhal as a family member orders it every single time we have a curry (and tries to force the rest of us to too) but I can’t say I’ve ever ordered it myself. New Covent Garden Soups take on it is “…delicious mildly spiced soup by combining tasty green spinach, juicy tomatoes and laird lentils with fragrant ginger, garlic, cardamom and cinnamon” It’s a curry soup basically! Lots of people turn their nose up at spinach but I must say, it’s something Indian food does very well – Saag Aloo or Aloo Gobi Saag are always the first thing I order – so I was looking forward to trying this a lot.

DSCF2596 (2)

Soups don’t usually look very pretty but this looked especially grim! It was extremely thick pre-heating and was packed full of spinach and lentils.

It thinned out a touch but stayed nice and filling, and for some reason became a lot darker and more curry looking, maybe because of the tomatoes?

The first thing I noticed were the spices. The soup is packed full of warm flavours with a distinctively “Indian” taste, it’s my idea of Indian but probably more of an Anglicised version, and in terms of heat, I’d say its roughly a medium on the curry scale. Spicier than a Korma but miles away from a Madras or Jalfrezi.

DSCF2599 (3)

Next up were the veg, the lentils were firm and tasty but the spinach reigned supreme for me. There’s a lot of it but don’t let that put you off, it’s not slimy in the slightest and holds on to that “spinach” flavour – you know what I mean, I don’t even know where to start describing it!

Underlying throughout all the spices and vegetables though is the wonderful base. It’s made with tomatoes and interestingly yoghurt. It’s nice to see yoghurt used, keeping with the Indian/curry theme and it works really well. A tomato-y, spicy, tangy soup that actually tasted more like a curry sauce.

Rating:

I loved it, it tastes like curry and it’s good for you – half a carton is 2 of your 5 a day, has less than 2% fat, is suitable for vegetarians and has all green “traffic lights” so low fat, low sugar, low salt, high fibre and decent protein. Result.

8/10

Find me on Twitter, Instagram or Blog Lovin’.

Leave a Reply

