7/10 · 8/10

Ambrosia Deluxe Custards

20160328_172643.jpg

What’s going on Ambrosia? We’ve gone forever with quite normal flavours and all of a sudden you seem to have developed an imagination! First we had the Frozen Custards and now 3 “Deluxe” flavours, of which I bought two. I’m sorry I didn’t and probably won’t be reviewing the third flavour; Clotted Cream, as the thought of clotted cream turns my stomach.

20160328_172657.jpg

Salted Caramel

O.K I’m praising you Ambrosia but you’ve still missed the salted caramel bandwagon by about three years.That can be overlooked if the flavour’s up to par though..

Try as I might, I couldn’t capture the custard as it looks in real life. In reality it was nowhere near as yellow as standard custard with a much creamier colour. There was no apparent caramel scent and it smelt pretty much like bog standard ambrosia custard.

There is no wateriness to it at all and it feels thicker and creamier.

There are a few extra ingredients (and I’ll bold the difference in the Deluxe):

Standard Devon Custard: Skimmed Milk, Buttermilk, Sugar, Modified Starch, Palm Oil, Whey  Natural Flavouring, Colours. Milk content: 73%

Deluxe Salted Caramel: Skimmed Milk, Buttermilk, Sugar, Modified Starch, Palm Oil, Cream 1% , Butter Powder 1%, Whey, Vanilla Extract, Natural Flavouring, Salt, Colours. Milk content: 70%

The addition of cream, although its only 1%, gave a much nicer mouth feel.

At first all I could taste was a vanilla flavoured custard but a mild caramel flavour crept up. It isn’t knock your socks off, smack me in the face, oh my God – that’s caramel, but its there and I could taste it. I came across a very slight saltiness towards the bottom of the tub but I was reaching for it big time, I am left with salt mouth afterwards gasping for a glass of water now though.

Rating:

 It sounds like I’m slating it but I’m really not. O.K they probably should have just called it Caramel but the caramel though mild, was lovely. The biggest improvement is the custard itself though. It has much more luxurious “Deluxe” feel and tasted like a grown up custard.

8/10

20160329_171615.jpg

Toffee

The photo of the Toffee flavoured shows the colour is a little creamier but it’s still positively neon compared to reality!

The ingredients are identical, literally identical, to the Salted Caramel, which means the caramel and toffee flavourings must fall under the “natural flavourings” label.

The base custard has the same creamy thick texture. I don’t think I could go back to standard Ambrosia after the “Deluxe” version, it’s much nicer. For some reason it had less of a custard scent, I couldn’t smell vanilla or toffee either mind you, but I hoped that would mean the toffee would taste stronger.

It didn’t.  Yes there is a slightly weaker custard flavour but the toffee is very mild. We both tried a pot and neither of us could say for certain whether we’d have noticed it at all had we not known beforehand.

The very mild toffee I could taste taught me a lesson in confectionery making though. After taking forever to swallow each mouthful I finally realised that what I could taste, tasted like a very slight custard version of Butterscotch Angel Delight. Now I make no claims to know what I’m talking about – I don’t make sweets or chocolate, I’m here to purely eat them! So I Googled “toffee butterscotch difference”. Lots of people are wondering apparently, and what d’ya know, toffee is purely butterscotch cooked for longer!

Rating:

Another delicious custard and the rating it’s getting is purely for the custard. The toffee is a bit of a fail, far too mild and seeing as the toffee isn’t cooked long enough to be in a “hard cracked” state inside the custard, surely it’s actually butterscotch??

7/10

Leave a Reply

