9/10 · Fudge · Limited edition

Bon Bons Gourmet – Hot Cross Bun Fudge

I think I’ve spoken on my love of fudge once or twice before and I might have mentioned Hot Cross Buns a few times too.. So imagine my excitement when I found the two combined! The only thing that can top this moment is Marmite Fudge but I ain’t paying the £££ they’re asking for those! 

Bon Bon’s Gourmet Fudge is exactly what you’d imagine, fudge made using butter, golden syrup raisins, mixed peel and cinnamon powder. 

It’s those bloody clear packets again, I could already tell it was going to be good before I’d even opened it. 

I was not let down. I have a theory that supermarkets are pumping (or at least aiming the ventilation from the bakery) the smell of freshly baked Hot Cross Buns right above the entrances. Don’t believe me? Go see for yourself, Asda/Morrisons/Sainsburys all have that mouthwatering scent as soon as I walk in, when the bakery of all three is at the back of the store and half the time there’s no fresh buns anyway! 

Whatever, I’m off on one again – the fudge smelt as strong as those fresh, just baked Hot Cross Buns just without the doughy bread but a sweet buttery scent in their place. 

You can tell just from looking at it what kind of fudge it was going to be. Thick, crumbly and almost gritty with a rich buttery flavour. I’ve had Bon Bon’s Gourmet Fudge before and its never disappointed, its good quality stuff with a real handmade feel to it. We’ll pretend the Sugar Free Toffee doesn’t exist…

There wasn’t much plain fudge though, soon the cinnamon shone through giving it that warm spiced Hot Cross Bun flavour. There is no mistaking it, I think there might well be a couple of sneaky unlisted flavourings used or it may well be due to the additional ingredients but it tasted 100% like a Hot Cross Bun. 

They would have been perfectly fine just with those flavours but of course traditional Hot Cross Buns contain currants, raisins or some sort of dried fruit and Bon Bon’s Gourmet Fudge have raisins and mixed peel including both orange and cut lemon peel which just added to the authenticity. 

The raisins are large and juicy providing a chewiness through the crumbly thick fudge. The orange and cut lemon peel are sweet and have a lovely flavour. I didn’t actually feel them as such, the pieces were small enough not to notice the texture (good, I hate them) but plentiful enough to taste. 

Rating:

Really lovely stuff, almost perfect and they’d have scored a perfect 10/10 if they weren’t so sweet and rich. That’s more of a reflection of me and my greediness though! 

9/10 

3 thoughts on “Bon Bons Gourmet – Hot Cross Bun Fudge

  1. These do sound delicious! I was directed here through WordPress. I posted about macaroons which my daughter and her boyfriend call “bon-bon’s.” 🙂

Leave a comment